Step 6: Implement teaching and learning activities

Friendly Schools Plus provides explicit multidisciplinary learner-centred teaching and learning resources for students aged 4 to 14 to enhance their social and emotional learning and to reduce bullying.

Pentagon Infographicclick to enlarge The Friendly Schools Plus teaching and learning resources for 4 to 14 year old students use a strengths-based approach that focuses on what creates positive health rather than emphasising risk factors or causes of ill-health. It is designed to address three key aspects of students’ school experiences shown to be related to improved social and emotional development: promoting positive peer relationships, promoting positive teacher-child relationships, and explicit teaching related to emotions, social knowledge and social skills. These resources aim to develop students’ social and emotional competencies to enable them to recognise and control their emotions; build positive relationships; show consideration for others; make thoughtful and sensible choices; and cope successfully with difficult situations. Outcomes are developed through the following five focus areas:

  • Self-Awareness
  • Self-Management
  • Social Awareness
  • Relationship Skills
  • Social Decision-Making

Teachers are encouraged to teach from each of the social and emotional learning focus areas in the order presented, as each builds on the vocabulary, concepts and skills covered in preceding focus areas.